A Glasgow Trilogy: "Boy Who Wanted Peace", "Mr.Alfred M.A.", "Grace and Miss Partridge", "Short Stor (BOK)

George Friel

169,00 16900
Sendes vanligvis innen 7-15 dager
Distinguished by irony, compassion and the author's own dry wit, these three novels paint a memorable picture of life in the streets, schools and tenements of Glasgow in the 1950s and 60s. With a unique vision of loneliness, old age, sexual longing, hot young blood and youth's casual cruelty, George Friel's books explore a dark comedy of tangled communication, human need and fading community. All these elements come together in the humorous parable of greed, religion and slum youth that is The Boy Who Wanted Peace; in the fate of old and disturbed Miss Partridge who is obsessed with the innocence of young Grace; and in the mental collapse of Mr Alfred, a middle-aged schoolteacher who is in love with one of this pupils. The humour, realism and moral concern of Friel's work clearly anticipate and stand alongside the novels of Alan Spence, Alasdair Gray, William McIlvanney and James Kelman.


Språk Engelsk Engelsk Innbinding Heftet
Utgitt 1999 Forfatter George Friel
ISBN 9780862418854
Antall sider 616 Dimensjoner 13cm x 19,9cm x 3,7cm
Vekt 415 gram Andre medvirkende Gordon Jarvie
Emner og form Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945), Short stories, Anthologies (non-poetry)