After the Dance: Selected Stories of Iain Crichton Smith (BOK)

Iain Crichton Smith

89,00 8900
Sendes vanligvis innen 5-15 dager
As a child Iain Crichton Smith was raised speaking Gaelic on the island of Lewis. At school in Stornoway he spoke English. Like many islanders before and since, his culture was divided: two languages, two histories entailing exile, a central theme of his stories in both tongues. His divided perspective delineated the tyranny of history and religion, of the cramped life of small communities; and gave him a compassionate eye for the struggle of women and men in a world defined by denials. Iain Crichton Smith:Selected Stories proves that big themes - love, history, power, submission, death - can be addressed without the foil of irony and acquire resonance when given a local habitation and a voice that risks pure, humane, impassioned speech.


Språk Engelsk Engelsk Innbinding Heftet
Utgitt 2013 Forfatter Iain Crichton Smith
ISBN 9781846972966
Antall sider 256 Leverandør Bertram Trading Ltd
Andre medvirkende Alan Warner Emner og form Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945), Short stories