Diversity in the Media (BOK)

Anver Jeevanjee

349,00 34900
Sendes vanligvis innen 7-15 dager
Formed in 1992 and self-funding, the CDAGM has consistently and repeatedly challenged unfair portrayal of members of ethnic minority groups as well as their lack of mainstream access and involvement. This thought-provoking book tells of the barriers to progress but also highlights the positive impact of the CDAGM in relation to institutions such as the BBC, ITV, Newsquest, Westminster Media Forum, DCMS (Department for Culture Media and Sport) and Parliamentary Select Committees.The work of the group has influenced developments across the UK, where there is now regular dialogue between minorities and representatives of the media/press. As one correspondent writes, 'I remember ...honest debate, amongst honest people, each with an honest desire to make ...the media a more honest reflection of the community it wants to speak to and for' (John Ferrao, Meridian Tonight, see p.123).With its insights about media/press 'gate keeping' and packed with materials concerning the ease and ingenuity with which legitimate concerns can be sincerely attended to or improperly deflected, "Diversity in the Media" is an invaluable handbook for everyone concerned with democracy, fairness and social inclusion - including programme makers, editors, journalists, practitioners, researchers, students and general readers. "Diversity in the Media" contains contributions and correspondence from and between a range of people with direct experience of the events described in this book, including Nigel Kay; Andy Griffee; Eve Turner; Peter Fincham; Michael Grade; Tim Daykin; Elaine Johnson; Robin Britton; John Ferrao; Ian Murray; Mary Venetia Genis; Di Bernstein; Don John; Yuri Layhe; Parvaneh Farid and Hazel Tan.


Språk Engelsk Engelsk Innbinding Heftet
Utgitt 2008 Forfatter Anver Jeevanjee
Waterside Press
ISBN 9781904380429
Antall sider 176 Dimensjoner 15,7cm x 23,5cm x 1,2cm
Vekt 273 gram Leverandør Bertram Trading Ltd
Andre medvirkende Professor Werner F. Menski