Doubling Back (BOK)

Linda Cracknell

199,00 19900
Sendes vanligvis innen 5-15 dager
Doubling Back is a fascinating and moving account of walking in the footsteps of others. In 1952 Linda Cracknell's father embarked on a hike through the Swiss Alps. Fifty years later Linda retraces that fateful journey, following the trail of the man she barely knew. This collection of walking tales takes its theme from that pilgrimage. The walks trace the contours of history, following writers, relations and retreading ways across mountains, valleys and coasts formerly trodden by drovers, saints and adventurers. Each walk is about the reaffirming of memories, beliefs and emotions, and especially of the connection that one can have with the past through particular places. This book celebrates life, family, friendship and walking through landscapes richly textured with stories. Doubling Back is a masterwork of travel writing in the vein of Robert Macfarlane and Roger Deakin, lyrical, poignant, and with stunning descriptions of the landscapes Linda Cracknell leads us through.

Produktfakta

Språk Engelsk Engelsk Innbinding Innbundet
Utgitt 2014 Forfatter Linda Cracknell
Forlag
Freight Books
ISBN 9781908754547
Antall sider 256 Dimensjoner 13,8cm x 21,6cm x 1,8cm
Vekt 315 gram Leverandør Bertram Trading Ltd
Emner og form Walking, hiking, trekking

Andre produkter med samme artist(er)/medvirkende