Fascination (BOK)

William Boyd

129,00 12900
Sendes vanligvis innen 5-10 dager
"Fascination" is master storyteller William Boyd's third volume of short stories. Described as "the finest storyteller of his generation", and following his acclaimed collections "On the Yankee Station" (1981) and "The Destiny of Nathalie X" (1995), in "Fascination" Boyd shows his brilliance of the form as these stories range widely through time and space. In a dazzling array of styles and narratives we move from 1930s Germany to Los Angeles in the Second World War, from contemporary Oxford to 19th century Russia. Whether in London or Amsterdam. Eastbourne or a Normandy village these stories explore and expose the fraught, funny, absurd, poignant and lovelorn lives of their many and varied characters. "Fascination" will be loved by fans of "Any Human Heart", as well as readers of William Trevor, Sebastian Faulks,Nick Hornby and Hilary Mantel. "The stories here are perfect ...suffused with an understanding of love, desire andemotional incompetence". ("Guardian"). "Perfectly formed snapshots of life at its most mystifying". ("Daily Mail"). "Consistently entertaining". ("Literary Review"). "Boyd achieves his best writing, observing tiny moments of love, lust and epiphanywith extraordinary sensitivity". ("Spectator"). William Boyd was born in Ghana, where his father was a doctor, and was educated there and in Scotland. His first novel "A Good Man in Africa" won both the Whitbread First Novel and Somerset Maugham Prizes, and his subsequent novel shave gone onto win many awards. His books include: "On the Yankee Station and Other Stories", "An Ice-Cream War", "Stars and Bars", "School Ties", "The New Confessions", "Brazzaville Beach", "The Blue Afternoon", "The Destiny of Natalie 'X' and Other Stories", "Armadillo", "Nat Tate: An American Artist 1928-1960", "Any Human Heart", "Restless", "The Dreams of Bethany Mellmoth", "Ordinary Thunderstorms", "Bamboo" and "Waiting for Sunrise". He divides his time between London and south-west France.


Språk Engelsk Engelsk Innbinding Heftet
Utgitt 2011 Forfatter William Boyd
ISBN 9780241957264
Antall sider 224 Dimensjoner 13cm x 19,9cm x 1,4cm
Vekt 162 gram Leverandør Bertram Trading Ltd