Lionel Tertis (BOK)

John White

229,00 22900
Sendes vanligvis innen 7-15 dager
Lionel Tertis (1876-1975) stands in the company of YsaYe, Kreisler, Casals, Thibaud and Rubinstein as one of the greatest instrumentalists - and arguably the greatest viola player - of all time. Many composers, including Bax, Holst and Vaughan Williams, wrote significant works for him; he was a member of a number of prominent string quartets; and he was later to design and promote his own 'Tertis model' viola. Tertis is virtually synonymous with the increasing importance of the viola as a solo and recital instrument alongside the violin and the cello. This updated paperback edition tells how he rose from humble beginnings to become 'the father of the modern viola'. It explores in detail his long and distinguished career, persuading composers to write works for the viola, arranging existing works for the instrument, editing and performing, and teaching and coaching, notably at the Royal Academy of Music. JOHN WHITE is a prominent viola teacher and performer. He was a founder member of the Alberni String Quartet and later played with the London Philharmonic Orchestra and the Stadler Trio and collaborated with composers Alan Bush, Lennox Berkeley and Alan Richardson in performances of their works. White was Professor of Viola at the Royal Academy of Music for over thirty years and has chaired four international viola congresses in the UK since 1978. In recognition of his outstanding contributions to the viola, he was awarded the Silver Alto Clef for 2010 by the International Viola Society.


Språk Engelsk Engelsk Innbinding Heftet
Utgitt 2012 Forfatter John White
Boydell Press
ISBN 9781843837909
Antall sider 456 Dimensjoner 23,2cm x 15,9cm x 3,3cm
Vekt 736 gram Leverandør Bertram Trading Ltd