Music and Narrative Since 1900 (BOK)

Michael L Klein

599,00 59900
Sendes vanligvis innen 5-15 dager
This comprehensive volume offers a wide-ranging perspective on the stories that art music has told since the start of the 20th century. Contributors challenge the broadly held opinion that the loss of tonality in some music after 1900 also meant the loss of narrative in that music. To the contrary, the editors and essayists in this book demonstrate how experiments in approaching narrative in other media, such as fiction and cinema, suggested fresh possibilities for musical narrative, which composers were quick to exploit. The new conceptions of time, narrative voice, plot, and character that accompanied these experiments also had a significant impact on contemporary music. The repertoire explored in the collection ranges across a wide variety of genres and includes composers from Charles Ives and the Pet Shop Boys to Thomas Ades and Dmitri Shostakovich.


Språk Engelsk Engelsk Innbinding Innbundet
Utgitt 2012 Forfatter Michael L Klein
ISBN 9780253006448
Antall sider 446 Dimensjoner 16,3cm x 23,4cm x 3,3cm
Vekt 748 gram Leverandør Bertram Trading Ltd
Andre medvirkende Michael Klein Michael L Klein, Nicholas Reyland Emner og form Theory of music & musicology, Techniques of music / music tutorials