Music and the Skillful Listener (BOK)

Denise Von Glahn

For tiden ikke tilgjengelig fra forlag.
Denise Von Glahn explores the relationship between listening and musical composition focusing on nine American women composers inspired by the sounds of the natural world: Amy Beach, Marion Bauer, Louise Talma, Pauline Oliveros, Joan Tower, Ellen Taaffe Zwilich, Victoria Bond, Libby Larsen, and Emily Doolittle. Von Glahn situates "nature composing" among the larger tradition of nature writers and argues that, like those of their literary sisters, works of these women express deeply held spiritual and aesthetic beliefs about nature. Drawing on a wealth of archival and original source material, Von Glahn skilfully employs literary and gender studies, eco-criticism and eco-musicology, and the larger world of contemporary musicological thought to tell the stories of nine women composers who seek to understand nature through music.


Språk Engelsk Engelsk Innbinding Innbundet
Utgitt 2013 Forfatter Denise Von Glahn
ISBN 9780253006622
Antall sider 416 Leverandør Bertram Trading Ltd