Peake's Progress (BOK)

Mervyn Peake

259,00 25900
Sendes vanligvis innen 5-15 dager
Mervyn Peake (1911-1968) the immensely talented writer, artist, poet and playwright,is best-known for his gothic masterpiece, the Gormenghast trilogy, and his stunning illustrations for Alice in Wonderland and Alice through the Looking Glass. He was a prolific and astonishingly original writer, who touched at one time or another on almost every literary form. Peake's Progress is a selection, compiled by his widow, Maeve Gilmore, from every period of his work as writer and draughtsman. It contains a remarkable work from childhood, 'The White Chief of the Umzimbooboo Kaffirs', the early 'Mr. Slaughterboard', which foreshadows the 'Titus' books, two plays, 'The Wit to Woo' and 'Noah's Ark', a broadcast version of 'Mr Pye', and a generous selection from Peake's short stories, poems and nonsense verses as well as from his drawings. Including a new introduction written by Mervyn Peake's son, Sebastian, this edition of Peake's Progress is published to coincide with the centenary of Peake's birth, and to mark the British Library's acquisition of Peake's archives.


Språk Engelsk Engelsk Innbinding Innbundet
Utgitt 2011 Forfatter Mervyn Peake
ISBN 9780712358347
Antall sider 576 Dimensjoner 15,5cm x 23,2cm x 7,5cm
Vekt 1703 gram Leverandør Bertram Trading Ltd
Andre medvirkende Maeve Gilmore Emner og form Classic fiction (pre c 1945), Short stories, Drawing & drawings, Poetry by individual poets, Plays, playscripts