Queen's Gambit (BOK)

Elizabeth Fremantle

149,00 14900
Sendes vanligvis innen 5-10 dager
For fans of Hilary Mantel, Philippa Gregory and Alison Weir, Elizabeth Fremantle's first novel, Queen's Gambit, is a riveting account of Katherine Parr, the Tudor queen who married four men and outlived three of them - including Henry VIII. Queen's Gambit: "Gripping". (Woman & Home). "Sumptuous". (Metro). "A major new voice in historical fiction". (The Bookseller). "Rich and enticing". (Stylist). "Electric". (Good Housekeeping). "Wildly entertaining". (Huffington Post). Tudor England - A dying king. A queen in danger Widowed for the second time aged thirty-one, Katherine is obliged to return to court but, suspicious of the aging Henry and those who surround him, she does so with reluctance. Nevertheless when she finds herself caught up in a passionate affair with the dashing and seductive Thomas Seymour, she believes she might finally be able to marry for love. But her presence at court has attracted the attentions of another...Captivated by her honesty and intelligence, Henry Tudor has his own plans for Katherine and no one is in the position to refuse a proposal from the king. With her charismatic lover dispatched to the continent, Katherine becomes Henry's sixth wife. Passionate about religious reform, and ever aware of the fates of his previous queens, she must draw upon all her instincts and intellect to navigate the treachery of the court. With the Catholic faction once more in the ascendency, reformers burned for heresy and those around the dying king vying for position in the new regime, her survival seems unlikely - and yet she has still not quite given up on love...Rich in atmosphere and period detail, and told through the eyes of Katherine and her young maid Dot, Queen's Gambit is the story of two very different women during a terrifying and turbulent time. If you loved Wolf Hall, The Other Boleyn Girl or the BBC drama series The Tudors, then Elizabeth Fremantle's Queen's Gambit is the book for you. Elizabeth Fremantle holds a first in English and an MA in creative Writing from Birkbeck. Queen's Gambit is her first novel. Her second, Queen Jane's Shadow, will be published in 2014.

Produktfakta

Språk Engelsk Engelsk Innbinding Innbundet
Utgitt 2013 Forfatter Elizabeth Fremantle
Forlag
PENGUIN GROUP
ISBN 9780718177065
Antall sider 480 Dimensjoner 16,2cm x 24cm x 4,1cm
Vekt 766 gram Leverandør Bertram Trading Ltd
Emner og form Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)