Rebuilding Coventry (BOK)

Sue Townsend

129,00 12900
Sendes vanligvis innen 5-15 dager
Sue Townsend, bestselling author of the "Adrian Mole" series, will have you laughing out loud with "Rebuilding Coventry" - a satire on modern Britain and the battle of the sexes. 'There are two things that you should know about me immediately: the first is that I am beautiful, the second is that yesterday I killed a man. Both things were accidents ...' When Midlands housewife Coventry Dakin kills her neighbour in a wild bid to prevent him from strangling his wife, she goes on the run. Finding herself alone and friendless in London she tries to lose herself in the city's maze of streets. There, she meets a bewildering cast of eccentric characters. From Professor Willoughby D'Eresby and his perpetually naked wife Letitia to Dodo, a care-in the-community inhabitant of Cardboard City, all of whom contrive to change Coventry in ways she could never have foreseen..."Rebuilding Coventry" is Sue Townsend's brilliant, laugh-out-loud satire on modern Britain and the unfinished battle of the sexes. "Splendidly witty ...the social observations sharp and imaginative". ("Sunday Express"). "Nasty, naughty, funny, brash. I found this swift novel a delight". (Joseph Heller). "A satire in the best, Johnsonian tradition, with nothing and no one spared". ("New Statesman"). Sue Townsend is Britain's favourite comic author. Her hugely successful novels include eight Adrian Mole books, "The Public Confessions of a Middle-Aged Woman (Aged 55 )", "Number Ten", "Ghost Children", "The Queen and I", "Queen Camilla" and "The Woman Who Went to Bed for a Year", all of which are highly acclaimed bestsellers. She has also written numerous well-received plays. She lives in Leicester, where she was born and grew up.


Språk Engelsk Engelsk Innbinding Heftet
Utgitt 2013 Forfatter Sue Townsend
Michael Joseph
ISBN 9780718194833
Antall sider 256 Dimensjoner 12,9cm x 19,3cm x 2,1cm
Vekt 180 gram Leverandør Bertram Trading Ltd