Riceyman Steps(Including 'Elsie and the Child') (BOK)

Arnold Bennett

199,00 19900
Sendes vanligvis innen 5-10 dager
Edited with an Introduction by Edward Mendelson and Robert Squillace - 'The Bennett novels stand up to anything Europe has put out'. Elizabeth Bowen Henry Earlforward, a shabby Clerkenwell bookseller, has retired from life to devote himself (and his wife Violet) to a consuming passion for money. Miserliness, long disguised as procrastination, can become a fatal illness. Bennett's bleak story is saved, however, by the Earlforward's maid Elsie: buxom, warm, ignorant and sublime in her spontaneous greed for life. "Riceyman Steps" is a modernist masterpiece; a profound psychological and symbolic exploration of the forces of love and death. This edition contains "Riceyman Steps", appearing here in Bennett's corrected version, and its sequel, "Elsie and the Child".


Språk Engelsk Engelsk Innbinding Heftet
Utgitt 1991 Forfatter Arnold Bennett
ISBN 9780140182590
Antall sider 416 Leverandør Bertram Trading Ltd