Stravinsky's Ballets (BOK)

Charles M. Joseph

349,00 34900
Sendes vanligvis innen 7-15 dager
Igor Stravinsky was a towering composer of the twentieth century and closely linked to dance. His early commissions for Diaghilev's Ballets Russes - "The Firebird", "Petrouchka", and "The Rite of Spring" - put him on the international map and propelled both ballet and music into the modern age. Even so, these brilliant pieces were but a prelude to Stravinsky's lifelong exploration of dance and dance idioms, as Charles M. Joseph convincingly demonstrates in this brilliant survey of all of the composer's ballet music. Joseph provides superb analyses of each of Stravinsky's ballet pieces, examining the composer's own drafts, notes, and sketches to discover how he conceived of and developed each work. This book also explores how Stravinsky's unorthodox new music energized colleagues, among them George Balanchine, and attracted a glittering array of artists including Tamara Karsavina, Vaslav Nijinski, Picasso, and Jean Cocteau. Joseph creates an intense, intimate portrait of Stravinsky and offers a fresh perspective on the musical revolutionary who changed the definition of music made for dance.


Språk Engelsk Engelsk Innbinding Innbundet
Utgitt 2011 Forfatter Charles M. Joseph
ISBN 9780300118728
Antall sider 320 Leverandør Bertram Trading Ltd
Emner og form Individual composers & musicians, specific bands & groups, 20th century & contemporary classical music, Ballet