English Poems of John Milton (BOK)

John Milton

79,00 7900
Sendes vanligvis innen 5-15 dager
John Milton (1608-74) has a strong claim to be considered the greatest English poet after Skakespeare. His early poems, collected and published in 1645, include the much loved pair 'L'Allegro' and 'Il Penseroso' ('the cheerful man and the thoughtful man'), 'Lycidas' (his great elegy on a fellow poet) and 'Comus' (the one masque which is still read today). When the Civil War began Milton abandoned poetry for politics and wrote a series of pamphlets in defence of the Parliamentary party, then in defence of the execution of Charles I: these include his great defence of the freedom of the press, 'Areopagitica'. In the course of this work he lost his sight, and was blind for the last twenty years of his life. During this time he wrote his two great epics, 'Paradise Lost' and 'Paradise Regained', and his retelling of the story of Samson as a Greek tragedy. This edition contains all his poems in English, with introduction and notes by Laurence Lerner (formerly Professor of English, University of Sussex).


Språk Engelsk Engelsk Innbinding Heftet
Utgitt 1994 Forfatter John Milton
Wordsworth Editions
ISBN 9781853264108
Antall sider 624 Dimensjoner 13,6cm x 20,3cm x 3,3cm
Vekt 402 gram Leverandør Bertram Trading Ltd
Andre medvirkende Laurence Lerner