The Music of Stravinsky (BOK)

Stephen Walsh

499,00 49900
Sendes vanligvis innen 5-15 dager
Stravinsky is one of the most original creative musicians of the 20th century. In a career spanning six decades he composed a glittering sequence of works of astonishing diversity, from the three, vividly colourful early Russian ballets, through the sharp wit and purity of his 'neo-classical' scores and the powerful spirituality of works like the Symphony of Psalms and the Mass, to the highly individual application of serialism in the late works. Here is a critical survey of Stravinsky's entire output in chronological order from an authoritative lucid guide. Its author, Stephen Walsh, has effortlessly assimilated the new literature on the composer, has examined many of Stravinsky's letters and sketches, and is able, in continuously questioning received views, to provide fresh insight into Stravinsky's works. He argues persuasively that Stravinsky needs to be seen as a whole, and that the works are more closely connected in style and method than is generally acknowledged, with changes in stylistic posture secondary in importance.


Språk Engelsk Engelsk Innbinding Heftet
Utgitt 1993 Forfatter Stephen Walsh
Oxford University Press
ISBN 9780198163756
Antall sider 326 Dimensjoner 15,7cm x 23,4cm x 1,7cm
Vekt 500 gram Leverandør Bertram Trading Ltd
Emner og form Individual composers & musicians, specific bands & groups, 20th century & contemporary classical music