Selected Poems of Cavafy (BOK)

129,00 12900
Sendes vanligvis innen 5-10 dager
C. P. Cavafy is one of the most singular and poignant voices of twentieth-century European poetry, conjuring a magical interior world through lyrical evocations of remembered passions, imagined monologues and dramatic retellings of his native Alexandria's ancient past. Figures from antiquity speak with telling interruptions from the author in such poems as "Anna Comnena" and "You did not understand", while precise moments of history are seen with a sense of foreboding, as in "Ides of March", "The God Abandoning Antony" and "Nero's Deadline". And in poems that draw on his own life and surroundings, Cavafy recalls illicit trysts or glimpses of beautiful young men in "One Night", "I have gazed so much" and "The Cafe Entrance", and creates exquisite miniatures of everyday life in "An Old Man" and "Of the Shop". This title is winner of the prestigious Harold Morton Landon Translation Award 2009.


Språk Engelsk Engelsk Innbinding Heftet
Utgitt 2008 Forfatter
ISBN 9780141185613
Antall sider 256 Dimensjoner 13,9cm x 20,3cm x 1,5cm
Vekt 188 gram Leverandør Bertram Trading Ltd
Andre medvirkende Avi Sharon