The Yonahlossee Riding Camp for Girls (BOK)

169,00 16900
Sendes vanligvis innen 5-15 dager
Perfect for fans of The Great Gatsby, Tigers in Red Weather, and Curtis Sittenfield...1930s America, southern high society: Part love story, part coming-of-age novel, this is the moving, raw and exquisitely vivid story of an uncommon girl navigating a treacherous road to womanhood. Thea Atwell is fifteen years old in 1930, when, following a scandal for which she has been held responsible, she is 'exiled' from her wealthy and isolated Florida family to a debutante boarding school in the Blue Ridge Mountains of North Carolina. As Thea grapples with the truth about her role in the tragic events of 1929, she finds herself enmeshed in the world of the Yonahlossee Riding Camp, with its complex social strata ordered by money, beauty and equestrienne prowess; where young women are indoctrinated in the importance of 'female education' yet expected to be married by twenty-one; a world so rarified as to be rendered immune (at least on the surface) to the Depression looming at the periphery, all overseen by a young headmaster who has paid a high price for abandoning his own privileged roots...

Produktfakta

Språk Engelsk Engelsk Innbinding Innbundet
Utgitt 2013 Forlag
Headline
ISBN 9780755395170 Antall sider 400
Dimensjoner 14,4cm x 3,6cm x 22,2cm Vekt 540 gram
Leverandør Bertram Trading Ltd Emner og form Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)