They Also Serve: The Real Life Story of My Time in Service as a Butler (BOK)

Tom Quinn

69,00 6900
Sendes vanligvis innen 5-15 dager
During more than thirty years in a variety of houses, Bob Sharpe managed to rise from garden boy to valet and butler.As a boy he had to kill pheasant chicks, boil rabbits for the estate dogs, carry the wood up and down stairs every day for thirty fires and sleep on the floor outside his master's room. He cleaned shoes, ironed underwear and socks and once had to stand all night in the hall waiting for a late visitor to arrive.But as a butler he was the best paid servant in the house, waited on, feared and respected by the other servants.Bob Sharpe knew the real world of upstairs downstairs and the secrets of the landed gentry - even to the point of incest and attempted murder! They Also Serve shows you life below stairs as it really was and is perfect for fans of Downton Abbey and nostalgia memoirs.

Produktfakta

Språk Engelsk Engelsk Innbinding Heftet
Utgitt 2012 Forfatter Tom Quinn
Forlag
CORONET
ISBN 9781444735925
Antall sider 256 Dimensjoner 13cm x 1,7cm x 19,8cm
Vekt 160 gram Leverandør Bertram Trading Ltd
Emner og form Biography: general, Service industries