Three Poets of the First World War (BOK)

Ivor Gurney

129,00 12900
Sendes vanligvis innen 5-10 dager
This new selection brings together the poetry of three of the most distinctive and moving voices to emerge from the First World War. Here are the controlled passion and rich metaphors of Wilfred Owen's celebrated verses such as "Anthem for Doomed Youth" and "Strange Meeting", along with many of his lesser-known works. The elegiac poems of Ivor Gurney, including "Requiem" and "The Silent One", reflect his love of language, music and landscape, while the visceral works of Isaac Rosenberg, such as "Break of Day in the Trenches", are filled with stark imagery but also, as in "Louse Hunting", with vitality and humour. Each poet reflects the disparate experiences of ordinary soldiers in war, and attempts to capture man's humanity in the most inhumane of circumstances.


Språk Engelsk Engelsk Innbinding Heftet
Utgitt 2011 Forfatter Ivor Gurney
ISBN 9780141182070
Antall sider 240 Dimensjoner 10,5cm x 14,7cm x 1,6cm
Vekt 170 gram Leverandør Bertram Trading Ltd