Time Will Say Nothing: A Philosopher Survives an Iranian Prison (BOK)

Ramin Jahanbegloo

239,00 23900
Sendes vanligvis innen 5-15 dager
Sorbonne-educated and the author of almost 30 books, Ramin Jahanbegloo, a philosopher of non-violence in the tradition of Tolstoy and Gandhi, was arrested and detained in Iran's notorious Evin prison in 2006. A petition against his imprisonment was initiated, with Umberto Eco, Jurgen Habermas, and Noam Chomsky among the signatories. International organisations joined in, and media around the world reported his case extensively. Finally, after four months, he was released. In this memoir Jahanbegloo recounts his confinement, his fear for his life, and his concern for the well-being of his family. With cockroaches his only companions, he is sustained by the wisdom of the great philosophers and by his memories of childhood in Tehran and coming-of-age in Paris. Now exiled to Canada, Jahanbegloo wryly observes that he "traded the danger and violence of an Iranian prison for the mediocrity and hypocrisy of a late capitalist society" and finds himself struggling yet again -- this time against banality -- in his continued quest for freedom.

Produktfakta

Språk Engelsk Engelsk Innbinding Innbundet
Utgitt 2014 Forfatter Ramin Jahanbegloo
Forlag
GAZELLE BOOK SERVICES
ISBN 9780889773028
Antall sider 255 Dimensjoner 11,5cm x 17cm x 2,2cm
Vekt 302 gram Leverandør Bertram Trading Ltd
Emner og form Philosophy, Biography: religious & spiritual