A Suite Of Poems (CD)

Ketil Bjørnstad

249,00 24900
Klikk og hent i butikk Betal når du henter varen.
Laster inn
Bestillingsvare Forventes på lager innen 7-14 dager
Frakt fra 49,- Gratis frakt på alle ordrer over 1000,-

Settings of poetry and other literary texts form a special category in the discography of Norwegian pianist-composer Ketil Bjørnstad's and A Suite of Poems, recorded at Oslo's Rainbow Studio in June 2016, is a song cycle to put alongside such projects as A Passion for John Donne, Sunrise, and The Light.

Norwegian-Danish author Lars Saabye Christensen is one of Scandinavia's most widely-praised contemporary writers. For many years now, in the course of his travels around the globe, Christensen has been sending "hotel poems" to Ketil Bjørnstad, a friend from their teenage years, inviting him to make music out of them. "I started writing music to his poems more than 20 years ago," says Ketil in his liner note for this album. "His ability to expose the inner conflicts we all bring with us in our suitcases is striking."

Christensen literary postcards explore a range of moods. Bjørnstad, who is also a writer himself, says: "I feel very connected to the lonely, existential perspective of these poems, made in different hotel rooms." For this recording, Ketil worked closely with singer and actress Anneli Drecker, former lead vocalist of pop group Bel Canto.

Personnel: Ketil Bjornstad (piano), Anneli Drecker (voice).

  1. Mayflower, New York
  2. Duxton, Melbourne
  3. Kempinski, Berlin
  4. L?Hotel, Paris
  5. Palace, Copenhagen
  6. Astor Crowne, New Orleans
  7. The Grand, Krakow
  8. Palazzo Londra, Venice
  9. Vier Jahreszeiten, Hamburg
  10. Savoy, Lisbon
  11. Mayday Inn, Hong Kong
  12. Lutetia, Paris
  13. Schloss Elmau
Utgitt 2018 Format CD
Sjanger Jazz Antall disker 1
Antall spor 13 Artist Anneli Drecker, Anneli Drecker, Ketil Bjørnstad & Lars Saabye Christensen, Ketil Bjørnstad
Bestillingsnummer 0602567283560