Inngår i kampanje
  • Norsk musikk på tilbud

Baba Yaga (CD)

Annbjørg Lien

143,20 14320 Veil. pris 179,00
Bestillingsvare Sendes vanligvis innen 2-5 dager
Frakt fra 49,- Gratis frakt på alle ordrer over 1000,-
With her first release for Northside -- an excellent fit, since they only issue Nordic music -- Annbjørg Lien continues to spread her wings, moving quite a distance from the traditional music of her Norwegian homeland. The influence is still very much there, both in her writing and playing on the hardanger fiddle (which has drone strings under the fingerboard) and keyed fiddle, in addition to her rare vocals. But plenty of other ideas come into play, in the influence of rhythms and melodies from warmer climes on "Inoque," a result of her visit to Mozambique with the Save the Children fund, or the title track, whose inspiration comes from Mussorgsky's "Pictures at an Exhibition" -- most specifically, the ELP version (Lien has stated she was a fan of the band and prog-rock), with a complex, pompous passage thrown in for good humor and good measure. "Iriandia" travels North to Sami territory, with its musical impressionism of the tundra and the folk tradition of c]joikingc]. But perhaps the most heartfelt track is the final one, "W.," another Lien composition, dedicated to the memory of master Norwegian fiddler Hans W. Brimi, whose music affected Lien for many years. She's long since moved on from being just a traditional artist. With this album she makes the transformation to important European musical figure. ~ Chris Nickson


  1. Loki
  2. Irianda
  3. Astra
  4. Àja
  5. Baba Yaga
  6. Old Larry
  7. January
  8. Ritual
  9. Inoque
  10. Wackidoo
  11. W.



Utgitt 1999 Format CD
Sjanger Folkemusikk Antall disker 1
Antall spor 11 Artist Annbjørg Lien
Label Grappa Bestillingsnummer GRCD4158

Andre produkter med samme artist(er)/medvirkende