Blue Suede Shoes: A Rockabilly Session - Deluxe Edition (m/DVD) (CD)

Carl Perkins

199,00 19900
Sendes vanligvis innen 7-14 dager
CD & DVD Set of the 1985 UK TV-Special celebrating the 30th Anniversary of the world renowned track. Written in October 1955 and released in January 1956, 'Blue Suede Shoes' was an instant classic earning a place in the history books when it became the first million-seller to crossover from the Country chart to the Pop and R&B listings. Swiftly covered by Elvis Presley and later The Beatles, the song remains a Rock 'n' Roll anthem. Fitting then that Carl Perkins, the man who wrote and first performed 'Blue Suede Shoes', should be accorded a television special to celebrate its 30th anniversary. On 21st October 1985 at London's Limehouse Studios a superstar cast of friends and fans joined Carl Perkins to record a TV special celebrating his career and the classic songs that he had recorded during it. Perkins was joined on stage by George Harrison and Eric Clapton along with other stars including Dave Edmunds, Slim Jim Phantom and Lee (Stray Cats) Rocker plus Earl Slick and singer Rosanne Cash, daughter of the legendary Johnny Cash. George Harrison struck up a lasting friendship with Perkins and much of the continued interest in the programme lies in the prominent role played by Harrison. The former Beatle takes lead vocal on several tracks as well as playing guitar and having a great time. The Beatles connection is even stronger in that Harrison is joined by former colleague Ringo Starr with the show representing their first reunion gig since the mid-1970's. To celebrate the 30th anniversary of this unique show, Madfish are releasing the concert both on CD & DVD packaged together for the first time. Carl Perkins & Friends - 'Blue Suede Shoes: A Rockabilly Session' is being presented in a mediabook with liner notes from Sam Szczepanski, who was one of the lucky fans who managed to get a ticket the show. This CD DVD captures the whole concert, both as an audio and visual experience capturing Carl Perkins and the All-Star band performing Perkins' finest songs which also include 'That's Alright Mama' and 'Whole Lotta Shakin' Going On', plus the DVD includes short interviews with Johnny Cash, Roy Orbison & Jerry Lee Lewis interviews discussing the importance and influence of Carl Perkins.


Disk 1
  1. Boppin` The Blues
  2. Put Your Cat Clothes
  3. Honey Don't
  4. Matchbox
  5. Mean Woman Blues
  6. Turn Around
  7. Jackson
  8. What Kind Of Girl
  9. Everybody`s Trying To Be My Baby
  10. Your True Love
  11. The World Is Waiting For The Sunrise
  12. Medley: That`s Alright Mama; Blue Moon Of Kentucky; Night Train To Memphis
  13. Glad All Over
  14. Whole Lotta Shakin' Goin' On
  15. Gone Gone Gone
  16. Blue Suede Shoes
  17. Blue Suede Shoes (Encore)
  18. Gone Gone Gone (Encore)
Disk 2
  1. DVD


Utgitt 2015 Format CD
Sjanger Rock Antall disker 1
Antall spor 19 Artist Carl Perkins, Carl Perkins & Friends
Label Madfish/Snapper Bestillingsnummer SMACD1032