British Piano Concertos (CD)

Simon Callaghan

199,00 19900
Klikk og hent i butikk Betal når du henter varen.
Laster inn
Bestillingsvare Forventes på lager innen 10-20 dager
Frakt fra 49,- Gratis frakt på alle ordrer over 1000,-
Smaller concertos for piano and modest orchestral forces were a feature of British composition in the first half of the 20th century. Often they were written for a special occasion, and typically vanished into oblivion thereafter. During the COVID period we were looking for things to record with small numbers of players, and stumbled across this treasury: short concertos written for entertainment that don’t outstay their welcome. The works on this album travel from the innocent pastiche of Geoffrey Bush’s tribute to Arne, Edmund Rubbra’s student essay, through the ‘Blues’ of Arthur Benjamin, the serial language of Humphrey Searle, the drama of Elizabeth Maconchy, and the bold humour of film composer John Addison. It is all great fun, and has never been recorded - apart from the Benjamin recorded just once, back in 1959. Simon Callaghan and Martyn Brabbins team-up to raise a smile, enjoying the lighter side of musical life.
  1. I. Allegretto Con Brio
  2. II. Andante, Un Poco Pomposo
  3. III. Allegro Vivace
  4. IV. Moderato, Tempo Di Valse
  5. V. Allegro Con Brio
  6. I. Allegro Non Troppo E Ritmico
  7. II. Andante Poco Lento
  8. III. Scherzo. Presto Scherzando
  9. IV. Come Primo Ma Meno Allegro
  10. I. Allegro Molto
  11. II. Lento, Serioso
  12. III. Allegro Con Brio
  13. Concertante for Piano, Percussion and Strings, Op. 24
  14. Nature's Song
  15. I. Andante
  16. II. Allegro
  17. III. Siciliano
  18. IV. Vivace
Utgitt 2022 Format CD
Sjanger Klassisk Antall disker 1
Artist BBC National Orchestra Of Wales, Martyn Brabbins, Simon Callaghan Bestillingsnummer SRCD407