Inngår i kampanje

Decadence (CD)


119,50 11950 Veil. pris 199,00
Sendes vanligvis innen 7-14 dager
The Maldives are not the kind of place you would typically go searching for heavy metal talent, but it is in fact the port of origin for most of the members of Nothnegål, whose 2012 debut album, Decadence, seeks to wed the disparate musical worlds of extreme metal and electronic music. Such weddings have a long, though not exactly market-saturating history (at least compared to other heavy metal subgenres), and thus one would assume that Nothnegål might have more raw materials to mix and match into exciting new shapes than many other bands working in parallel niches. Certainly, the band shows good instincts and technical ability for doing so, as track after track of contrasting hard/soft elements roll by, cleverly embellishing crushing riffs, double-kick drums, and Cookie Monster vocals with programmed beats, stark piano, lush synthesizers, and airy, agile melodies to yield startling sonic contrasts. Unfortunately, what Nothnegål lacks is a truly distinct voice, as almost everything about Decadence -- from the music to the cover art to the type-font chosen and ring diacritic capping the letter "a" in their name -- reflects the early efforts of American techno-death ensemble Dååth; and employing said band's drummer, Kevin Talley, to complement their lineup is just the smoking gun. Nevertheless, given the paucity of bands working in this stylistic terrain (again, relatively speaking), and Nothnegål's evident creativity within its parameters -- see infectious, genre-bending standouts "Claymore," "R.A.D.A.R," and uniquely clean-sung "Sins of Our Creation" for evidence -- many listeners may be able to forgive and forget such obvious comparisons and enjoy these frequently stimulating songs in their own right. Time will tell… ~ Eduardo Rivadavia


  1. Salvation
  2. Claymore
  3. Janus
  4. Decadence
  5. Armageddon
  6. R.A.D.A.R
  7. Sins Of Our Creations
  8. Singularity



Utgitt 2012 Format CD
Sjanger Metal Antall disker 1
Antall spor 8 Artist Nothnegal
Label Season Of Mist Leverandør Border Music Norway AS
Bestillingsnummer SOM231