Egge: Piano Concerto No 2 (CD)

Håvard Gimse

79,50 7950 Veil. pris 109,00
Sendes vanligvis innen 5-10 dager
This disc demonstrates the richness and variety of 20th century Norwegian music when it responds to the powerful stimulus of folk music. Klaus Egge’s breakthrough work, his First Piano Sonata, was inspired by Draumkvædet (The Dream Ballad), a would-be medieval saga sung to traditional melodies. Egge’s Second Piano Concerto is similarly based around a traditional folk-tune, the haunting Solfager og Ormekongen (Sun-Fair and the Snake-King), also heard here in an arrangement by Grieg. Egge’s Halling Fantasy, Sverre Bergh’s Norwegian Dance No. 2 and Alf Hurum’s Miniature all draw on the tradition of folk-fiddling, and the disc ends with the première recording of Brudlaups-Klokkor (Wedding-Bells), a newly-discovered piece by Geirr Tveitt.


  1. 25 Norwegian Folksongs and Dances, Op. 17: No. 12. Solfager og Ormekongen (Solfager and the Snake - King)
  2. Piano Concerto No. 2, Op. 21, "Symphonic Variations and Fugue on a Norwegian Folktune"
  3. 3 Pieces, Op. 12: No. 1. Phantasy in Halling
  4. I. Grave - Allegro moderato
  5. II. Adagio ma non troppo
  6. III. Scherzo infernale
  7. IV. Allegro in halling
  8. Norwegian Dance No. 2, "Gamel Holin" (Old Holin)
  9. Aquarelles, Op. 5: No. 2. Miniature
  10. Brudlaups - Klokkor (Wedding - Bells)


Utgitt 2007 Format CD
Sjanger Klassisk Antall disker 1
Antall spor 10 Artist Alf Hurum, Edvard Grieg, Geirr Tveitt, Håvard Gimse, Klaus Egge, Sverre Bergh, Trondheim Soloists Orchestra, Øyvind Gimse
Label Naxos Leverandør Naxos Norway AS
Bestillingsnummer 8557834