Etta Is Betta Than Evvah! (CD)

Etta James

199,00 19900
Klikk og hent i butikk Betal når du henter varen.
Laster inn
Ubekreftet leveringstid Ikke på lager hos leverandør.
Frakt fra 49,- Gratis frakt på alle ordrer over 1000,-
Released in 1976, Etta Is Betta Than Evvah! was the final album of Etta James' tumultuous 16-year tenure at Chess Records. The album is issued here on CD for the first time, together with 10 bonus titles from the mid-70s. The self-produced opener, 'Woman (Shake Your Booty)', is a funky rewrite of a song Etta had recorded, as 'W.O.M.A.N', for Modern in 1955 and again for Chess in 1971. 'Only A Fool' and Randy Newman's 'Leave Your Hat On' had been released previously on 1973's Etta James album. By 1976 Chess Records had been purchased by All Platinum, at whose New Jersey studio the bulk of Etta Is Betta Than Evvah! was recorded with former Motown baritone sax hero Mike Terry producing. The players on the sessions were the All Platinum house band, the Rimshots. 'Little Bit Of Love' and 'I've Been A Fool' were penned by Freddie Beckmeier, the bass player with Etta's own band. The remainder of the album comprised well-chosen covers of 'A Love Vibration' (a fine song from Ann Peebles' I Can't Stand The Rain album), 'Groove Me' (a smash hit in 1970 for King Floyd), 'Blinded By Love' (penned by Allen Toussaint and first recorded by Johnny Winter), 'Jump Into Love' (from the catalogue of the group Rufus) and 'Ain't No Pity In The Naked City' (a minor hit for Pat Lundy). None of the tracks Etta recorded in Philadelphia in 1973 with producers Esmond Edwards and Bobby Martin was released at the time. Among them was her revival of the Righteous Brothers' 'You've Lost That Lovin' Feelin'', the first of the bonus selections. Next up are three more tracks from the Etta James album and five from 1974's Come A Little Closer. Closing the CD is Etta's version of Tom Jans' yearning country ballad 'Lovin' Arms', the only recording ever released from her shelved 1974 sessions with producer Jerry Wexler.


  1. Woman (Shake Your Booty)
  2. A Love Vibration
  3. Only A Fool
  4. Little Bit Of Love
  5. Groove Me
  6. Jump Into Love
  7. Leave Your Hat On
  8. I've Been A Fool
  9. Blinded By Love
  10. Ain't No Pity In The Naked City
  11. You've Lost That Lovin' Feelin'
  12. Down So Low
  13. All The Way Down
  14. God's Song (That's Why I Love Mankind)
  15. Power Play
  16. Come A Little Closer
  17. Feeling Uneasy
  18. St. Louis Blues
  19. Let's Burn Down The Cornfield
  20. Lovin' Arms


Utgitt 1976 Reutgitt 2013
Format CD Sjanger Blues
Antall disker 1 Antall spor 20
Artist Etta James Label Kent/Ace
Bestillingsnummer CDKEND388