South Texas Rhythm 'N' Soul Revue (CD)

Diverse Artister

199,00 19900
Sendes vanligvis innen 7-14 dager
Kent are pleased to continue their travels through Texas music with the first of several compilations of fantastic 60s soul and R&B from the Lone Star State. Texas Southern Soul has a unique sound and extends into many other styles of music that are peculiar to the area. All of the recordings featured here were cut in South Texas mostly in and around the Houston area between 1961 and 1969 by Huey Meaux, a fantastic talent-spotter who found and recorded some of the best artists to emerge from the audio hotbed of South Texas in the 60s. Some of the best-known featured artists here include Johnny Adams, Johnny Copeland, Barbara Lynn, Jackie Paine and Jean Knight of Mr Big Stuff fame. Texas soul music sees no colour and our musical melting pot also includes some blue-eyed soul from Warren Storm, brown-eyed soul from Sunny Ozuna and the Sunliners and even pink-eyed soul from albino brothers Johnny and Edgar Winter, doing their thing here under the alias of the Insight. The original demos of the soul classics Neighbour Neighbour and You'll Lose A Good Thing will be a huge draw for collectors, but they will by no means be the only ones here. Very few of these tracks have been reissued, and the few that have are mastered from fresh tape transfers of the original Crazy Cajun tapes made by Ace's Alec Palao and Tony Rounce in March 2010.


  1. Go Go Train - Jackie Paine
  2. Doggin' Around - Jean Knight
  3. Git To Gittin' - Big Walter Price
  4. Tennessee Waltz - Warren Storm
  5. Trick Bag - Sunny And The Sunliners
  6. Pick Me Up On Your Way Down - Margo White
  7. Long Gone - James 'Big Sambo' Young
  8. Out Of Sight - The Insight (Johnny Winter)
  9. Time - Charles Berry
  10. If You're Looking For A Fool - David King Thomas
  11. Let Them Talk - Johnny Adams
  12. This Is Where The End Must Begin - Joe Masters (Medwick)
  13. Irene - Rockin' Dave Allen
  14. Slow Walk You Down - Johnny Copeland
  15. Fat Man - Tv And The Tribesmen (Joe Medwick)
  16. If You Were Only Here - Margo White
  17. Five Long Years - Tee Bee Fisher
  18. A Place Called Home - Johnny Adams
  19. I Found A Love - Maxine Davis
  20. Sufferin' City (Version 2) - Johnny Copeland
  21. Friends In Show Business - Joe Melvin (Medwick)
  22. Go Go Train (Wmca Version) - Jackie Paine
  23. Neighbour Neighbour (Demo) - Alton Valier
  24. You'll Lose A Good Thing (Demo) - Barbara Lynn


Utgitt 2013 Format CD
Sjanger Pop, Soul Antall disker 1
Antall spor 24 Artist Diverse Artister, Diverse Soul
Label Kent/Ace Leverandør Border Music Norway AS
Bestillingsnummer CDKEND390