Symphony No. 12 - The Dead In The Square (SACD-Hybrid)

Swedish Radio Choir

159,20 15920 Veil. pris 199,00
Klikk og hent i butikk Betal når du henter varen.
Laster inn
Bestillingsvare Forventes på lager innen 5-10 dager
Frakt fra 49,- Gratis frakt på alle ordrer over 1000,-
The Twelfth Symphony forms an exception in Allan Pettersson’s output. When he agreed to compose a work for the 500th anniversary of Uppsala University, it was one of the few commissions that he ever accepted. Having written purely orchestral scores for the past 30 years, he decided to incorporate a choir and a text. Pablo Neruda had received the Nobel Prize in 1971, and acknowledging the poet’s ‘deeply felt compassion for the outcasts of society’, Pettersson selected nine poems from the huge collection Canto general for his new work. As Pettersson was composing the symphony, Neruda died during the tumultuous aftermath of the military coup in Chile on 11 September 1973. The poems deal with an incident in Santiago de Chile in 1946 when six demonstrators were killed by the police during a workers’ manifestation. Pettersson, who came from a working-class background, commented on the subject matter: ‘My heart was, and is, with the poor of Chile, so like the worker in the ‘third world’ in which I grew up.’ Typically Pettersson, the symphony is in one movement. The choral parts are highly demanding – the choir sings almost without interruption, and often very forcefully and in difficult registers. The Swedish Radio Choir and Eric Ericson Chamber Choir, two of Sweden’s finest choirs, have combined their forces for this recording and join the Norrköping Symphony Orchestra and Christian Lindberg on the latest installment in the team’s acclaimed Pettersson cycle.
  1. Beginning. De Döda På Torget (The Dead in the Square)
  2. Bar 323. Massakern (The Massacres)
  3. Bar 646. Nitrates Män (The Men of the Nitrate)
  4. Bar 840. Döden (Death)
  5. Bar 984. Hur Fanorna Föddes (How the Flags Were Born)
  6. Bar 1023. Jag Kallar På Dem (I Call On Them)
  7. Bar 1204. Fienderna (The Enemies)
  8. Bar 1414. Här Är De (Here They Are)
  9. Bar 1520. Alltif (Always)
Utgitt 2021 Format SACD-Hybrid
Sjanger Klassisk Antall disker 1
Artist Allan Pettersson, Christian Lindberg, Eric Ericson Chamber Choir, Norrkoping Symphony Orchestra, Swedish Radio Choir Bestillingsnummer BIS2450