The Bootleg Series Vol.15: Travelin’ Thru - 1967–1969 (3CD)

Bob Dylan

299,00 29900
Klikk og hent i butikk Betal når du henter varen.
Laster inn
Bestillingsvare Forventes på lager innen 5-10 dager
Frakt fra 49,- Gratis frakt på alle ordrer over 1000,-

The latest chapter in Columbia/Legacy's highly acclaimed Bob Dylan Bootleg Series revisits Dylan's pivotal musical journeys to Nashville, from 1967 to 1969, focusing on previously unavailable recordings made with Johnny Cash and unreleased tracks from the John Wesley HardingNashville Skyline, and Self Portrait sessions.

Disc One of Travelin' Thru, 1967 - 1969: The Bootleg Series Vol. 15 finds Dylan in Columbia's Studio A in Nashville recording alternate versions of compositions written for John Wesley Harding (October 17 and November 6, 1967) and Nashville Skyline (February 13-14, 1969) while introducing a new song "Western Road" (a Nashville Skyline outtake).

Discs Two and Three of Travelin' Thru are centered around Dylan's collaborations with American music icon Johnny Cash including the much sought-after Columbia Studio A sessions and on-stage performances at the Ryman Auditorium (May 1, 1969) for the recording of the premiere episode of The Johnny Cash Show (originally broadcast on ABC-TV on June 7, 1969).

Disc Three closes with tracks recorded on May 17, 1970 with Grammy Award-winning bluegrass banjo legend Earl Scruggs for the PBS television special, "Earl Scruggs: His Family and Friends" (originally aired January 1971).

1967 saw a profound and surprising transformation in Bob Dylan's musical evolution. With contemporary pop culture becoming increasingly baroque, surreal and psychedelic in the wake of Dylan's 1965-66 cutting edge trilogy, Bringing It All Back Home/Highway 61 Revisited/Blonde On Blonde, the artist withdrew from public view following a motorcycle accident in July 1966. He'd recorded Blonde On Blonde with a full-band in Nashville in February 1966 but, when it came time to record its follow-up in the fall of 1967, he opted for a simple trio--Dylan (guitar, vocals, harmonica), Charlie McCoy (bass) and Kenneth Buttrey (drums)--to create a sublime minimal sound.

In his liner notes for Travelin' Thru,Colin Escott writes, "Talking to journalist Matt Damsker about the sound of John Wesley Harding, Dylan said, 'I didn't know how to record the way other people were recording, and I didn't want to… Ijust didn't think all that production was necessary.'He also went for lyrical economy. 'What I'm trying to do now is not use too many words,' he said. 'There's no line you can stick your finger through. There's no blank filler.'"

Dylan returned to Columbia Studio A in February 1969 to work on Nashville Skyline.

"Bob asked me to be a guest on the album," Johnny Cash said later, "and I went to the studio and they just turned on the recorder for about two hours." Columbia Studio A hosted two Dylan-Cash sessions: February 17 and 18, 1969 with a band that included rock 'n' roll pioneer Carl Perkins playing guitar on six tracks (including his own composition, "Matchbox"). One of the more intriguing sonic discoveries on Travelin' Thruis "Don't Think Twice, It's Alright/Understand Your Man," as two singular singer/songwriters pay mutual compositional and vocal tribute to each other.

The full-day Dylan-Cash duet session included the first known version of "Wanted Man" and the only version of the song ever sung by Dylan. The following week, Cash made it the opening song at his San Quentin concert. The session provides insight into the shared sensibilities of Dylan and Cash through a variety of covers including two Jimmie Rodgers medleys.

When The Johnny Cash Show was scheduled to debut in June 1969, the host offered Bob Dylan a guest slot on the first show. In the days before and after The Johnny Cash Show taping, Dylan was working on the album that emerged more than a year later as Self Portrait. For the May 3 Self Portrait session, guitarist Fred Carter was brought in to augment Dylan's usual Nashville band. The "Folsom Prison Blues" and "Ring of Fire" recorded that day are available for the first time on Travelin' Thru.

Although only one duet with Johnny Cash ("Girl from the North Country") appears on Dylan's original Nashville Skyline album, Cash penned the album's Grammy Award-winning liner notes. A month after Nashville Skyline was released, Dylan made his first live TV appearance in five years on The Johnny Cash Show; that performance is also included here.

Disk 1
  1. Drifter's Escape - Bob Dylan
  2. I Dreamed I Saw St Augustine - Bob Dylan
  3. All Along the Watchtower - Bob Dylan
  4. John Wesley Harding - Bob Dylan
  5. As I Went Out One Morning - Bob Dylan
  6. I Pity the Poor Immigrant - Bob Dylan
  7. I Am a Lonesome Hobo - Bob Dylan
  8. I Threw It All Away - Bob Dylan
  9. To Be Alone with You - Bob Dylan
  10. Lay, Lady, Lay - Bob Dylan
  11. One More Night - Bob Dylan
  12. Western Road - Bob Dylan
  13. Peggy Day - Bob Dylan
  14. Tell Me That It Isn't True - Bob Dylan
  15. Country Pie - Bob Dylan
Disk 2
  1. I Still Miss Someone - Bob Dylan & Johnny Cash
  2. Don't Think Twice, It's All Right / Understand Your Man - Bob Dylan & Johnny Cash
  3. One Too Many Mornings - Bob Dylan & Johnny Cash
  4. Mountain Dew - Bob Dylan & Johnny Cash
  5. Mountain Dew - Bob Dylan & Johnny Cash
  6. I Still Miss Someone - Bob Dylan & Johnny Cash
  7. Careless Love - Bob Dylan & Johnny Cash
  8. Matchbox - Bob Dylan & Johnny Cash
  9. That's All Right, Mama - Bob Dylan & Johnny Cash
  10. Mystery Train / This Train Is Bound for Glory - Bob Dylan & Johnny Cash
  11. Big River - Bob Dylan & Johnny Cash
  12. Girl from the North Country - Bob Dylan & Johnny Cash
  13. Girl from the North Country - Bob Dylan & Johnny Cash
  14. I Walk the Line - Bob Dylan & Johnny Cash
  15. Guess Things Happen That Way - Bob Dylan & Johnny Cash
  16. Guess Things Happen That Way - Bob Dylan & Johnny Cash
  17. Five Feet High and Rising - Bob Dylan & Johnny Cash
  18. You Are My Sunshine - Bob Dylan & Johnny Cash
  19. Ring of Fire - Bob Dylan & Johnny Cash
Disk 3
  1. Studio Chatter - Bob Dylan & Johnny Cash
  2. Wanted Man - Bob Dylan & Johnny Cash
  3. Amen - Bob Dylan
  4. Just a Closer Walk with Thee - Bob Dylan & Johnny Cash
  5. Jimmie Rodgers Medley No 1 - Bob Dylan & Johnny Cash
  6. Jimmie Rodgers Medley No 2 - Bob Dylan & Johnny Cash
  7. I Threw It All Away (Live on The Johnny Cash Show) - Bob Dylan
  8. Living the Blues (Live on The Johnny Cash Show) - Bob Dylan
  9. Girl from the North Country (Live on The Johnny Cash Show) - Bob Dylan & Johnny Cash
  10. Ring of Fire - Bob Dylan
  11. Folsom Prison Blues - Bob Dylan
  12. Earl Scruggs Interview - Bob Dylan with Earl Scruggs
  13. East Virginia Blues - Bob Dylan with Earl Scruggs
  14. To Be Alone with You - Bob Dylan with Earl Scruggs
  15. Honey, Just Allow Me One More Chance - Bob Dylan with Earl Scruggs
  16. Nashville Skyline Rag - Earl Scruggs & Bob Dylan
Utgitt 2019 Format 3CD
Sjanger Rock Antall disker 3
Artist Bob Dylan Bestillingsnummer 0190759819326