The One Who Really Loves You / Two Lovers (CD)

Mary Wells

299,00 29900
Sendes vanligvis innen 7-14 dager
This two-fer compilation collects Motown superstar Mary Wells' second and third albums, 1962's The One Who Really Loves You and 1963's Two Lovers. The collection's 20 tracks are Wells at her absolute prime, and reflect the highest points of Motown's early days. Still moving toward the soul-pop sound of the Supremes and the Temptations, these early albums were more rooted in smoky R&B with pop undertones. Huge hits like "You Beat Me to the Punch," "The One Who Really Loves You," and the classic "Two Lovers" sit among other scorching tracks, with Wells' soaring voice riding the dynamic waves of heartbreak and devotion on every song. ~ Fred Thomas 138749 An excellent collection that pairs Eddie Harris's 1965 THE IN SOUND with his 1966 date MEAN GREENS, this is a classic post-bop set of the first order. An underrated tenor known for his smooth tone, his experiments with electronics (though there aren't any of those here), and his strong compositions, Harris is in excellent form on these sessions. His best-known composition, "Freedom Jazz Dance"--immortalised by Miles Davis and his second quintet on MILES SMILES--appears on THE IN SOUND, and Harris's version proves much slinkier, funkier, and more accessible than Davis's frenetic reading.
Harris spins through standards ("Love for Sale", "'S Wonderful"), as well as many of his own strong compositions. Often based on blues progressions, as on "Cryin' Blues" and "Mean Greens", Harris's tunes are rooted in an easy, off-hand groove, but are always packed with witty, technically precise improvisation. The personnel includes pianist Cedar Walton, drummer Billy Higgins, and bassist Ron Carter, and their expertise lends an open, exploratory feel to the proceedings. Though Harris later dabbled in other genres, his blowing here, while inventive and fresh, is rooted in tradition, placing these among his best straight-ahead jazz albums.


  1. The One Who Really Loves You
  2. Two Wrongs Don´t Make A Right
  3. You Beat Me To The Punch
  4. I´ve Got A Notion
  5. The Day Will Come
  6. Strange Love
  7. You´re My Desire
  8. I´ll Still Be Around
  9. She Don´t Love You
  10. Drifting Love
  11. Two Lovers
  12. Guess Who
  13. My 2 Arms - U = Tears
  14. Goody-Goody
  15. Stop Right Here
  16. Laughing Boy
  17. Looking Back
  18. No Love
  19. Was It Worth It
  20. Operator


Utgitt 1962 Reutgitt 2013
Format CD Sjanger Soul
Antall disker 1 Antall spor 20
Artist Mary Wells Label Kent/Ace
Leverandør Border Music Norway AS Bestillingsnummer CDTOP387