Ozu - The Gangster Films (UK-import) (DVD)

499,00 49900
Klikk og hent i butikk Betal når du henter varen.
Laster inn
Bestillingsvare Forventes på lager innen 8-16 dager
Frakt fra 49,- Gratis frakt på alle ordrer over 1000,-
Yasujiro Ozu (Tokyo Story) honed his craft in the early 1930s, a time when young Japanese directors were experimenting with cinematic conventions. This 2-disc set features three gangster-genre films in which Ozu mixes a Hollywood-infused dynamism with elements of his later style.

Walk Cheerfully (Hogaraka ni ayume) (1930)
Kenji 'the Knife' Koyama, leader of a gang of hooligans, falls for the virtuous Yasue. Will he go straight to win her heart or carry on his life of petty crime? Reminiscent of Sternberg's Underworld with its expressionist lighting, Walk Cheerfully combines international cinematic influences with Ozu's own comic touches.

That Night's Wife Sono yo no tsuma) (1930)
Young father Shuji turns to crime to pay his daughter's medical bills. Enter Detective Kagawa for a tense night-time stand-off with Shuji's wife, Mayumi. That Night's Wife demonstrates Ozu's masterly handling of drama as the film reaches its emotional climax.

Dragnet Girl (Hijosen no onna) (1933)
By day sweet-faced Tokiko (played by Tanaka Kinuyo [Equinox Flower]) is an ordinary typist but come nightfall she's a fun-loving gangster's moll. When her boyfriend strays, Tokiko is forced to reassess her life. Hugely popular when it was released, Ozu's Dragnet Girl remains one of his most enduring silent films.

Vi gjør oppmerksom på at produktet ikke har norske undertekster.

  • A Straightforward Boy - 13 minute fragment
  • Ozu: Emotion and Poetry
  • Fully illustrated booklet with newly commissioned essays
Produksjonsår 1930 Utgitt 2013
Format DVD Sone Sone 2
Sjanger Thriller Antall disker 2
Spilletid 4 timer 24 minutter Aldersgrense 7
Undertekster Engelsk Lydformater Mono 1.0 (Stumfilm)
Bildeformater Fullscreen 4:3, Sort/Hvitt Regissør Yasujiro Ozu
Skuespillere Hiroko Kawasaki, Kinuyo Tanaka, Nobuko Matsuzono, Satoko Date Bestillingsnummer BFIVD951
Serie BFI, BFI (British Film Institute)