Paul McCartney - The Space Within Us (DVD)

Beklager, denne varen er for øyeblikket ikke tilgjengelig for bestilling. Legg inn e-postadressen din hvis du vil holdes oppdatert på endringer i bestillingsstatus.
Largely filmed at a performance in Anaheim, CA, this is an extremely well-filmed document of Paul McCartney's late-2005 U.S. tour, using more than 25 high-definition cameras and 5.1 digital Surround Sound. You'd be hard-pressed to complain about not getting your money's worth, as it includes almost two hours of material, more than 30 songs, and about a half hour of bonus features. McCartney and his band perform well, with cheerful good-natured energy, on a set that's heavy on Beatles tunes, though there's also a smattering of post-Beatles numbers, going all the way up to a few songs from what was his most recent album at the time, Chaos and Creation in the Backyard. If you didn't see McCartney on this jaunt, it might be surprising -- and refreshing, consider how many veteran acts of his stature keep trotting out the same old items -- to see and hear him doing some relatively underexposed tunes, in addition to some expected staples like "Maybe I'm Amazed," "Get Back," and "Yesterday." Also trotted out are some relatively little-traveled Beatles numbers like "I'll Get You," "Fixing a Hole" (done on solo piano), and "I've Got a Feeling," and non-singles Wings cuts like "Let Me Roll It" (a definite highlight of the disc) and "Too Many People."At the same time, some less intense fans might find the presentation a little too flashy and lengthy, and trying a little too hard to impress McCartney's legendary status upon them. There are too many rapid cuts to ecstatic fans of all ages to count; brief backstage/on-the-road scenes emphasizing the singer's humble humanity; and brief testimonies as to the brilliance and significance of his contributions from a multitude of admirers, from obscure professors all the way up to astronauts on the space station (to whom this concert was beamed) and Bill Clinton. Not much spontaneity seems to have been caught on film, other than a brief clip of Paul accidentally falling into a hole in the stage on the second night of the tour. Still, if you want a well-preserved record of this tour, this delivers -- even if, oddly, the music and performance themselves seem more straightforward and down to earth than the spectacle this video seems to be trying to make out of it. The bonus features include soundcheck performances of three songs ("Friends to Go," "How Kind of You," and Jerry Lee Lewis' "Whole Lotta Shakin' Goin' On") not included in the main feature, a brief behind-the-scenes look at the tour, and the dizzyingly paced McCartney career highlights reel that was used as the tour's pre-show film. ~ Richie Unterberger


  1. Magical Mystery Tour
  2. Flaming Pie
  3. Let Me Roll It
  4. Drive My Car
  5. Till There Was You
  6. I'll Get You
  7. Eleanor Rigby
  8. Maybe I'm Amazed
  9. Got To Get You Into My Life
  10. Fine Line
  11. I Will
  12. I'll Follow The Sun
  13. Good Day Sunshine
  14. For No One
  15. Hey Jude
  16. Fixing A Hole
  17. Penny Lane
  18. Too Many People / She Came In Through The Bathroom Window
  19. Let It Be
  20. English Tea
  21. I've Got A Feeling
  22. Follow Me
  23. Jenny Wren
  24. Helter Skelter
  25. Yesterday
  26. Get Back
  27. Please Please Me
  28. <b>Special Features</b>
  29. Sound Check
  30. More About US: Extensive Interviews
  31. US Tour Pre-Show Film
  32. On The Road With US
  33. Liner Notes Introduction By Cameron Crowe
  34. Song Selection


Produksjonsår 2006 Format DVD
Sone Sone 2 Sjanger Musikk
Antall disker 1 Skuespillere Paul McCartney
Artist Paul McCartney Bestillingsnummer 5051011702426
Leverandør Warner Music