The Director 's Cut: A New Year 's Revolution (DVD)

169,00 16900
Sendes vanligvis innen 7-14 dager
Let's be honest, heavy metal music can sometimes be quite one-dimensional and predictable. And the same can certainly be said about heavy metal bands' live DVDs. But then again, there are bands such as Fantômas, who blow these theories to smithereens, especially on their 2011 DVD The Director's Cut: A New Year's Revolution. As its title states, the performance includes a complete on-stage reading of the group's 2001 release, The Director's Cut, which was comprised of covers of popular themes from movies. And for this special performance, the Melvins' Dave Crover subbed for usual Fantômas drummer Dave Lombardo. Filmed on New Year's Eve, 2009 at the Great American Music Hall in San Francisco, California, director Vincent Forcier has done a dandy job mixing up visuals and whacked effects throughout. So while sonically you get Fantômas in all their expected, unpredictable, yet heavy glory, you have no idea what's going to happen next visually (without coming off over the top or taking away from the music). And as far as the performances, they're all stellar, including fine renditions of "The Godfather," "Rosemary's Baby" (which singer Mike Patton dedicates to "Little Baby New Year"), "The Omen," and "Spider Baby." Also included are a pair of non-film covers tacked on at the end (Al Green's "Simply Beautiful" and T. Rex's "Chariot Choogle"), plus a bonus commentary by everyone's favorite anti-comedian, Neil Hamburger (shot in a sleazy hotel room, Hamburger shows the viewer how to check for bed bugs, among other colorful bits). Fantômas is one of the best and most versatile live hard rock bands, and The Director's Cut: A New Year's Revolution offers plenty of proof. ~ Greg Prato


  1. The Godfather
  2. Night of the Hunter
  3. Cape Fear
  4. Experiment in Terror
  5. One Step Beyond
  6. Rosemary’s Baby
  7. The Devil Rides Out
  8. Spider Baby
  9. The Omen (Ave Satani)
  10. Henry: Portrait Of A Serial Killer
  11. Vendetta
  12. Investigation Of A Citizen Above Suspicion
  13. Twin Peaks: Fire Walk With Me
  14. Der Golem
  15. Charade
  16. Intermission
  17. Simply Beautiful [Al Green]
  18. Chariot Choogle [Marc Bolan & T Rex]


Produksjonsår 2011 Format DVD
Sjanger Musikk Antall disker 1
Skuespillere Fantomas Artist Fantomas
Bestillingsnummer IPEC129 Leverandør Border Music Norway AS