Black Monk Time (VINYL - 2LP)

The Monks

499,00 49900
Sendes vanligvis innen 7-14 dager
The Monks: Gary Burger (vocals, guitar); Dave Day (banjo); Larry Clark (organ); Eddie Shaw (bass); Roger Johnston (drums). One of the strangest artifacts of the 1960s, the Monks' sole album, BLACK MONK TIME essentially anticipates Blank Generation punk by about a decade. The music is a furious rush of minimalist drums (seemingly influenced by German marching bands), percussive electric banjo strums, fuzz guitar and feedback, and in-your-face lyrics expressing such tender sentiments as "I hate you" and "Shut up". To be sure, the Monks will occasionally remind you of other rock bands of their day; L.A.'s Music Machine, for example, managed a somewhat similar mix of stop/start and fuzz. But the Monks did it first and with the most conviction; after all, these guys were serious enough about what they were doing to actually shave their heads and wear real Monks costumes. Needless to say, very few people grokked the concept back in 1966 (the LP was never released in America), but the album has since achieved genuine cult status.


  1. Monk Time
  2. Shut Up
  3. Boys Are Boys And Girls Are Choice
  4. Higgle-Dy - Piggle-Dy
  5. I Hate You
  6. Oh, How To Do Now
  7. Complication
  8. We Do Wie Du
  9. Drunken Maria
  10. Love Came Tumblin´ Down
  11. Blast Off!
  12. That´s My Girl
  13. I Can´t Get Over You
  14. Cuckoo
  15. Love Can Tame The Wild
  16. He Went Down To The Sea
  17. Pretty Suzanne
  18. Monk Chant (Live)



Utgitt 1966 Format VINYL - 2LP
Sjanger Rock Antall disker 1
Antall spor 18 Artist The Monks
Label Light In The Attic Leverandør Border Music Norway AS
Bestillingsnummer LITA042LP