Brown Submarine (VINYL)

Boston Spaceships

199,00 19900
Sendes vanligvis innen 5-10 dager
BROWN SUBMARINES inspired Robert Pollard to embark on his first nationwide tour since the breakup of Guided By Voices, one sign that the Boston Spaceships project he started with Chris Slusarenko (GBV) and John Moen (The Decemberists) is meatier than his other extracurricular bands and releases. The music backs up the commitment; these songs are substantial, with "Winston's Atomic Bird" an obvious standout--fun stop 'n' guitars and some bizarre enunciating from Bob. Pollard shines lyrically on the witty "Two Girl Area" and "Andy Playboy," two gentle (yet biting) satires of acquaintances. Boston Spaceships: Robert Pollard (vocals, acoustic guitar); Chris Slusarenko (guitar, E-bow, recorder, keyboard, bass instrument); Pam Snyder (cello); David Grant (trumpet); Jim Talstra (bass instrument); John Moen (drum); Brian Berg (percussion). Personnel: Brian Berg (recorder). Alternative Press (p.152) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "A scrappy but loveable collection of power pop, BROWN SUBMARINE essays uncomplicated riffing you've certainly heard before, but usually suggests excellent sources..." Magnet (p.100) - "Boasting sharp lyrics and plenty of strong songwriting, BROWN SUBMARINE may be Pollard's most entertaining start-to-finish record since 2006's double-whammy of FROM A COMPOUND EYE and BLUES AND BOOGIE SHOES." Mojo (Publisher) (p.101) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "Less proggy than Pollard's recent solo material, at times the songs sound like lost tracks from his legendary mid-'90s purple patch....With beat band ballast, horn-laden soul, orchestral gloom and pleasingly weird mini-epics." Clash (magazine) (p.114) - "[A] typically glorious off-kilter pop punk gem. The title track is joyous psych pop....Robert Pollard remains stubbornly true to his underground roots -- and for that, may we be truly grateful."


  1. Winston´s Atomic Bird
  2. Brown Submarine
  3. You Satisfy Me
  4. Ate I Twice
  5. Two Girl Area
  6. North 11 A.M.
  7. Zero Fix
  8. Psych Threat
  9. Andy Playboy
  10. Rat Trap
  11. Soggy Beavers
  12. Ready To Pop
  13. Still In Rome
  14. Go For The Exit



Utgitt 2008 Format VINYL
Sjanger Indierock Antall disker 1
Antall spor 14 Artist Boston Spaceships
Label Guided By Voices Leverandør Import
Bestillingsnummer GUDV3.1