Complete Mythology (VINYL - 6LP+4CD)

Syl Johnson

1 249,00 1 24900
Sendes vanligvis innen 5-10 dager
Syl Johnson Box Set Unwrapped

On October 19, 2010, The Numero Group released "Syl Johnson: Complete Mythology" in a four CD + six LP box set (both formats, one package). Four years in the making, this is by far the most exhaustively researched and meticulously presented work from The Numero Group to date. Encompassing the first fifteen years of a career that spans half a century, Syl Johnson: Complete Mythology not only covers his obvious hits but shines a light into the dark corners of a true musical visionary.

Born Sylvester Thompson in Holly Springs, Mississippi, Johnson sang and played with blues artists Magic Sam, Billy Boy Arnold, Junior Wells and Howlin' Wolf in the 1950s, before recording with Jimmy Reed for Vee-Jay in 1959. His break was to come recording for Twinight Records of Chicago in 1967. Johnson dominated the label as both a hit maker and producer, providing such hits as "Come On Sock It to Me", "Different Strokes" (one of the most heavily sampled songs in the history of recorded music--paid homage by Public Enemy, N.W.A., Kid Rock, Michael Jackson, J. Dilla and dozens more), "Is It Because I'm Black" (which reached Number 11 on the Billboard R&B charts in 1969), among many more.

Included on Complete Mythology are re-mastered versions of no less than twenty eight singles from the Twinight, Federal, Cha-Cha, Tmp-Ting, Special Agent, and Zachron labels, facsimiles of the Dresses Too Short and Is It Because I'm Black albums, ten previously unreleased tracks and detailed track by track notes from acclaimed music historian Bill Dahl. The fifty-two page booklet contains a thirty-five thousand word essay, scores of previously unpublished photos, a sampling index, and complete discography--all presented in a lavish hardbound box. For the uninitiated this is history, for those familiar this is respect for one the greatest musical artists of our time.

De seks LP-ene inneholder de samme sporene som de fire CD-ene


Disk 1
  1. Teardrops
  2. They Who Love
  3. I´ve Got Love
  4. Lonely Man
  5. I Need Love
  6. His Gift
  7. I´ve Got to Find My Baby
  8. She´s So Fine
  9. Little Sally Walker
  10. I Resign From Your Love
  11. I Wanna Know
  12. Well Oh Well
  13. Please, Please, Please
  14. I´m Looking for My Baby
  15. She´s Alright
  16. I Know
  17. A Half Love
  18. I´ve Been Talked About
  19. This Heart of Mine
Disk 2
  1. Falling in Love Again
  2. I´ve Got to Get Over
  3. Straight Love, No Chaser
  4. Surrounded
  5. Try Me
  6. Half a Love
  7. Do You Know What Love Is
  8. The Love I Found in You
  9. Do You Know What Love Is
  10. Things Ain´t Right
  11. Come on Sock It to Me
  12. Different Strokes
  13. Sorry ´Bout Dat
  14. Ode to Soul Man
  15. I´ll Take Those Skinny Legs
  16. Send Me Some Lovin´
  17. Soul Drippin´
  18. Fox Hunting on the Weekend
  19. Try Me
  20. I Feel an Urge
  21. I Resign
  22. Love Condition
Disk 3
  1. My Funky Band
  2. Sockin´ Soul Power
  3. Double Whammy
  4. Dresses Too Short
  5. I Can Take Care of Business
  6. Same Kind of Thing
  7. I´ve Got the Real Thing
  8. Take Me Back
  9. I Take Care of Homework
  10. Let Them Hang High
  11. Don´t Give It Away
  12. Going to the Shack
  13. Is It Because I´m Black
  14. Concrete Reservation
  15. Together Forever
  16. Come Together
  17. Black Balloons
  18. Walk a Mile in My Shoes
  19. I´m Talkin´ ´Bout Freedom
  20. Right On
  21. Everybody Needs Love
Disk 4
  1. One Way Ticket to Nowhere
  2. Kiss By Kiss
  3. Thank You Baby
  4. We Do It Together
  5. Try My Love
  6. That´s Why
  7. Get Ready
  8. The Way You Do the Things You Do
  9. Annie Got Hot Pants Power
  10. Wouldn´t Change My Lady
  11. All I Need Is Someone Like You
  12. Let´s Start All Over Again
  13. Hot Pants Lady
  14. Wiggle in Your Hips
  15. Your Love Is Good for Me
  16. Trying to Get to You
  17. Soul Strokes
  18. Annie Got Hot Pants Power (Instrumental)
  19. Soul Heaven


Utgitt 2010 Format VINYL - 6LP+4CD
Sjanger Blues Antall disker 1
Antall spor 81 Artist Syl Johnson
Label Numero Leverandør Import
Bestillingsnummer NUMR32.1