Eccentric Soul: A Red Black & Green Production (VINYL - 2LP)

Diverse Soul

449,00 44900
Sendes vanligvis innen 5-10 dager
Prior to the involvement of the intrepid Numero Group, Red Black & Green Productions (or RBG Productions), operated by engineer and producer Robert Hosea Williams (aka R. Jose Williams, who worked on three Gil Scott-Heron & Brian Jackson albums), "had never been much more than a letterhead and three initials scrawled on a few dozen magnetic tape boxes." This package continues the work Numero did with Father's Children's Who's Gonna Save the World, an album of previously unreleased recordings that had been stored in Williams' garage. However, most of these fully developed and often excellent soul recordings from Washington, D.C. were issued throughout the early '70s on small labels like New Directions, DC International, and DMC. Four songs come from Your Funny Moods, a 1974 album cut by Skip Mahoaney & the Casuals. The batch is led by "I Need Your Love," a seven-minute ballad loaded with pained falsetto, group background harmony, and an impassioned monologue over twinkling electric piano. East Coast Connection's animated, breakneck "Summer in the Parks," featuring nimble Kool & the Gang, Earth, Wind & Fire, and Soul Searchers swipes/tributes, could have been used in an ad for D.C.'s parks department. The ebullience in the tempo and brightness of Dyson's Faces' "We're Two Fools in Love" is belied by its tormented lyrics, which detail the conflict of being a poor man in love with a rich woman. The Exceptions and the Summits both deal sweet, stirring soul, while Promise -- a group of young women -- offer energetic, age-appropriate material. Finally, there are three previously unreleased songs from Father's Children: an instrumental version of "Linda Movement," the stirring "I Really Really Love You," and "Phoney People," the last of which is a nurturing/scolding number somewhere between the Honey Cone's "Sunday Morning People" and the O'Jays' "Shiftless, Shady, Jealous Kind of People." Anyone who owns the Father's Children set, as well anyone with an interest in impeccably documented obscure soul, should probably get this. ~ Andy Kellman 665534 To much of the British public, the 27 songs on this CD are part of Petula Clark's forgotten early years, as a teenager during the years 1950-1952, while for Americans, who never heard her records until the end of the 1950s, they're utterly unknown. The music rises out of the mists of the late '40s, the 17-year-old Clark intoning like an American pop singer at least ten years older than that (even as her breasts were being bound up and her hair deliberately styled downward to prevent photos from showing any hint of her maturation), singing with a winsome maturity, with the clarity of a bell learning how to ring, backed by an American-style pop chorus and orchestra. The earliest sides on this CD never even came out in England -- they were licensed by the fledgling Polygon label to companies in Australia and Denmark while Polygon's English operation was being set up. The eerie thing about this material, other than showing off Clark singing in a musical style that's at least a decade removed from anything that Americans ever knew about her, is the transformation of her voice -- she takes on a pleasing sassiness on "Silver Dollar," or an impish quality on "Talky Talky Talky" (the latter an annoying novelty number), then brassy on "Who Spilt Coffee on the Carpet" and sliding back into a bouncy, girlish quality on "You're My True Love." By the later sides, Clark's intonation and diction have settled down into a mature, flexible presentation that set the stage for her conquest of the charts in England. The sound is a bit uneven on this volume -- many of the Polygon masters, which would have been on wax anyway, were destroyed or lost after the company was sold to Pye/Nixa in late 1955, and the songs here are drawn from original 78s. They're generally very clean but lack clarity and sharpness, even from material going back this far. On the other hand, under ideal conditions, most recordings never made it onto LP, much less CD before this, so one should just be glad it's here. The notes by Richard Harries are excellent, and this set, though lacking the intrinsic musical fascination of the Vol. 2 disc, offers a rare glimpse at the earliest years of Clark's career and roots. ~ Bruce Eder


  1. I Really Really Love You - Father´s Children)
  2. Sleepwalking - Summits
  3. We´re in Love - Exceptions
  4. Town Called Nowhere - Mahoaney, Skip & the Casuals
  5. It Takes Two - Summits
  6. It Must Be Love - Exceptions
  7. Don´t Worry About the Joneses - Dyson´s Faces
  8. We Share Love - Mahoaney, Skip & the Casuals
  9. Generation - Connection, East Coast
  10. I´m Not Ready for Love - Promise
  11. Phoney People - Father´s Children
  12. Summer in the Parks - Connection, East Coast
  13. We´re Two Fools in Love - Dyson´s Faces
  14. Let´s Do It Over - Summits
  15. Day by Day - Exceptions
  16. I Need Your Love - Mahoaney, Skip & the Casuals
  17. I´ll Never Say No - Summits
  18. Seems Like (the Love We Had is Dead and Gone) - Mahoaney, Skip & the Casuals


Utgitt 2012 Format VINYL - 2LP
Sjanger Soul Antall disker 1
Antall spor 18 Artist Diverse Soul
Label Numero Leverandør Import
Bestillingsnummer NUMR41.1