Good Morning Spider (VINYL - 180 gram)


349,00 34900
Sendes vanligvis innen 5-10 dager
Even more inventive than the brilliant VIVADIXIE..., GOOD MORNING SPIDER is the sound of a man who quite literally died and lived to tell about it. Before recording the album, Sparklehorse singer/songwriter Mark Linkous flatlined for two minutes in a London hospital, an experience reflected in the lyrics of the lullaby-like Saint Mary where he sings, Blanket me, sweet nurse, and keep me from burnin'. I must get back to the woods, dear girls. I must get back to the woods. True to his word, Linkous returns with startling urgency, taking his quirky rural aesthetic to further extremes, as evidenced on the aggressive distortion-filled album opener, Pig, and in the hushed sleepiness of All Night Home. The head 'horse briefly ventures into poppier territory with the catchy chorus of Sick of Goodbyes, but most songs are far stranger creatures like the lush Painbirds and the fuzzed-out Ghost of His Smile, which employ an eclectic array of arrangements and instrumentation. It's rare that an album of such wide scope can hold itself together, but with GOOD MORNING SPIDER, Linkous has triumphantly crafted a cohesive sound-collage of both fierce vitality and astonishing beauty.

Sparklehorse: Mark Linkous (vocals, guitar, piano, Wurlitzer piano, optigan, samples). Additional personnel: Sofie Michalitsianos (vocals, cello); Vic Chesnutt (spoken vocals); David Lowery (guitar, bass, drum machine); Stephen McCarthy (pedal steel guitar); Melissa Moore (violin); Paul Watson (cornet); Johnny Hott (piano, drums); Scott Minor (harmonium, drums).


  1. Pig
  2. Painbirds
  3. Saint Mary
  4. Good Morning Spider
  5. Sick Of Goodbyes
  6. Box Of Stars (Part One)
  7. Sunshine
  8. Chaos Of The Galaxy/Happy Man
  9. Hey, Joe
  10. Come On In
  11. Maria´s Little Elbows
  12. Cruel Sun
  13. All Night Home
  14. Ghost Of His Smile
  15. Hundreds Of Sparrows
  16. Box Of Stars (Part Two)
  17. Junebug



Utgitt 1999 Format VINYL - 180 gram
Sjanger Rock Antall disker 1
Antall spor 17 Artist Sparklehorse
Label Plain Leverandør Import
Bestillingsnummer PLAI164.1