MoodSwing (VINYL - 2LP + CD)

Joshua Redman

449,00 44900
Sendes vanligvis innen 5-10 dager
Joshua Redman Quartet: Joshua Redman (tenor & soprano saxophone); Brad Mehldau (piano); Christian McBride (acoustic bass); Brian Blade (drums). Recorded at Power Station, New York on March 8-10, 1994. Includes liner notes by Joshua Redman. All songs written by Joshua Redman. Saxophonist Joshua Redman's third album as a leader is cause for celebration, because here's a young jazzman gifted with all manner of technical gifts, yet he places a premium on feeling and communication. MOODSWING is just that, a series of changes, alternating between the cool and the hot--each arrangement depicting some aspect of Redman's wide-ranging musical personality. So it comes to pass that a long jump tune such as Rejoice (the centerpiece of MOODSWING) celebrates the gospel aspects of jazz in the tried and true manner of the original Jazz Messengers, even as a low-key Faith derives its inspiration from quieter forms of devotion, while Dialogue manages to combine both as Redman expounds on a quiet Aylerish hymn with escalating intensity. As with his previous recordings, listeners are left with the sense that young Joshua Redman is mature beyond his years. On a cool, swinging minor blues vamp such as Chill, the ease with which he manipulates the timbres of his saxophone recall old-time tenor kings from the swing era. And yet, Redman is very much the contemporary thinker, as his funky closing tune Headin' Home illustrates. Whether playing R&B or hard bop, ballads or swing, blues or latin, it's the total conviction Joshua Redman brings to every note that makes MOODSWING a joy.


  1. Sweet Sorrow
  2. Chill
  3. Rejoice
  4. Faith
  5. Alone In The Morning
  6. Mischief
  7. Dialogue
  8. Oneness Of Two (In Three), The
  9. Past In The Present
  10. Obsession
  11. Headin´ Home


Utgitt 1994 Format VINYL - 2LP + CD
Sjanger Jazz Antall disker 1
Antall spor 11 Artist Joshua Redman
Label Import Leverandør Import
Bestillingsnummer NNS45643.1