New Orleans Soul - The Original Sound Of New Orleans Soul 1960-76 (VINYL - 2LP)

Diverse Artister

349,00 34900
Sendes vanligvis innen 7-14 dager
For more than ten years Soul Jazz Records have been exploring and documenting the sound of New Orleans Funk. Now they turn their attention to the flipside of this musical coin - New Orleans Soul.

These two musical forms share a lineage that begins with the city's enormous rhythm and blues explosion in the post-war 1940s and 1950s. New Orleans Soul incorporated the soulful vocals of the gospel church, the driving beat of rhythm and blues, as well as traces of the second-line parade bands and the latinized rhythms of the city.

Here you will find New Orleans soul in all its glorious variations - from the deep, deep soul of singers Aaron Neville, Willie Tee and Robert Parker to the storming northern soul of Maurice Williams and Eldridge Holmes, the funky soul of Eddie Bo, Lionel Robinson and Ernie K-Doe all alongside the Crescent City's finest soul sisters - Irma Thomas, Betty Harris, Jean Knight, Inell Young and more!

The main force behind New Orleans Soul is Allen Toussaint, a virtual one-man hit-making machine in the 1960s, writing, arranging and producing hit after hit for an unending list of unbelievably talented local singers such as Eldridge Holmes, Maurice Williams, Betty Harris, Ernie K Doe and Diamond Joe (all of whom are featured here).


  1. Caught You in a Lie - Robert Parker
  2. First Taste of Hurt - Willie Tee
  3. Don't Pity Me - Curley Moore
  4. Steppin' Out - Lionel Robinson
  5. What's So Wrong With You Loving Me - Irma Thomas
  6. You Can Give But You Can't Take - Aaron Neville
  7. What One Man Won't Do Another Man Will - Jean Knight
  8. Worried Over You - Eldridge Holmes
  9. Congratulations Baby - Barbara West
  10. Back Street Lover - Ernie K. Doe
  11. I Don't Wanna Hear It - Betty Harris
  12. She's On My Mind - Aaron Neville
  13. She'll Never Be Your Wife - Irma Thomas
  14. Lovely Woman - Eldridge Holmes
  15. Tell Her That I Love You - Jimmy Hicks
  16. The ABC Song - Diamond Joe
  17. Gone, Gone, Gone - Eldridge Holmes
  18. Two Fools - Francine King
  19. Don't Turn Me Loose - Eddie Bo
  20. A Hard Nut to Crack - Aaron Neville
  21. I've Never Considered - Inell Young


Utgitt 2014 Format VINYL - 2LP
Sjanger Pop, Soul Antall disker 1
Antall spor 21 Artist Diverse Artister, Diverse Soul
Label Soul Jazz Leverandør Border Music Norway AS
Bestillingsnummer SJRLP269