Past Masters 1 & 2 (VINYL - 2LP - 180 gram - Remastered)

The Beatles

549,00 54900
På lager Sendes vanligvis innen 24 timer
PAST MASTERS 1 & 2 is a compilation of singles, B-sides and other tracks that did not appear on the Beatles' original British albums. The Beatles as a general rule did not include their singles on their albums in the UK.

Like the Red Album, VOLUME ONE covers the first half of the Beatles career from 1962 to 1965. Such was the enormous success of the Fab Four's breakout singles She Loves You and I Want To Hold Your Hand that their vocals were recut for German versions (Komm, Gib Mir Deine Hand and Sie Liebt Dich respectively), which were originally slated for the West German market (and are included on this collection) before being released in the States. Always mindful of their influences, the Beatles in their early phase were also notable for their choice of cover songs. Carl Perkins, Larry Williams and Little Richard were all paid tribute to eventually. While Ringo Starr sang Matchbox and John Lennon handled Slow Down and Bad Boy, Paul McCartney channeled Richard Penniman. His take on Long Tall Sally induces goosebumps and the influence clearly carried over to I'm Down.

Like the Blue Album, VOLUME TWO covers the second half of the Beatles career from 1965 to 1970. During this time period, the Fab Four stopped touring and focused their energies on studio recordings. The results included some of the Beatles' more experimental forays, like their first use of backwards tape (Rain) and the breaking of the singles time barrier (Hey Jude). There are alternate versions of well-known songs (Get Back, Across The Universe), and songs influenced by Fats Domino (Lady Madonna) and Indian culture (The Inner Light). The most unusual tune included on this collection is You Know My Name (Look Up The Number). This highly unusual recording was started in May 1967 and shelved before getting completed in November 1969. The result was an avant-cabaret number conceived by John Lennon, featuring mumbled vocals, Brian Jones' saxophone playing and sound effects replicating the inside of an after-hours club.

The Beatles: John Lennon (vocals, acoustic & electric guitars, percussion, sound effects): George Harrison (vocals, guitar); Paul McCartney (vocals, piano, bass, drums, maracas, sound effects); Ringo Starr (drums). Additional personnel includes: Brian Jones (saxophone); Nicky Hopkins (piano); Billy Preston (organ); Mal Evans (sound effects). Producer: George Martin. Recorded between September 4, 1962 and January 4, 1970.

The album has been re-mastered by a dedicated team of engineers at EMI's Abbey Road Studios in London over a four year period utilising state of the art recording technology alongside vintage studio equipment, carefully maintaining the authenticity and integrity of the original analogue recordings. The result of this painstaking process is the highest fidelity the catalogue has seen since its original release.


Disk 1
  1. Love Me Do
  2. From Me To You
  3. Thank You Girl
  4. She Loves You
  5. I'll Get You
  6. I Want To Hold Your Hand
  7. This Boy
  8. Komm Gib Mir Deine Hand
  9. Sie Liebt Dich
  10. Long Tall Sally
  11. I Call Your Name
  12. Slow Down
  13. Matchbox
  14. I Feel Fine
  15. She's A Woman
  16. Bad Boy
  17. Yes It Is
  18. I'm Down
Disk 2
  1. Day Tripper
  2. We Can Work It Out
  3. Paperback Writer
  4. Rain
  5. Lady Madonna
  6. The Inner Light
  7. Hey Jude
  8. Revolution
  9. Get Back
  10. Don't Let Me Down
  11. The Ballad Of John And Yoko
  12. Old Brown Shoe
  13. Across The Universe
  14. Let It Be
  15. You Know My Name (Look Up The Number)


Utgitt 2012 Format VINYL - 2LP - 180 gram - Remastered
Sjanger Rock Antall disker 1
Antall spor 33 Artist The Beatles
Label Apple Leverandør Universal Music
Bestillingsnummer 509996994351