Songs Of Surrender - Limited Edition (VINYL - 2LP - Opaque White)


579,00 57900 Veil. pris 649,00
Klikk og hent i butikk Betal når du henter varen.
Laster inn
Lagervare Kun 1 på nettlager
Frakt fra 49,- Gratis frakt på alle ordrer over 1000,-

‘Songs of Surrender’ 2 x 12’’ Opaque White Vinyl - features 16 new acoustic & re-imagined recordings from the U2 catalogue

Produced & Compiled by The Edge. Including ‘One’, ‘I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For’, & ‘Pride (In The Name Of Love)’.

  • 2 x 12’’ 180g Heavyweight Opaque White Vinyl
  • 4-Page Insert Feat. Liner notes from The Edge
  • The packaging is finished with a Metallic Silver Print

Songs Of Surrender is curated and produced by The Edge and sees the band revisit some of the most celebrated songs of their 40+ year career, including ‘With Or Without You’, ‘One’, ‘Beautiful Day’, ‘Sunday Bloody Sunday’ and ‘Invisible’, for a musical reimagining resulting in a completely new recording of each track, to include the arrangements and, in some cases, new lyrics.  

The Edge said of the project: “Music allows you to time travel, and we became curious to find out what it would be like to bring our early songs back with us to the present day and give them the benefit, or otherwise, of a 21st century reimagining. 

What started out as an experiment quickly developed into a personal obsession as so many of our songs yielded to a new interpretation. Intimacy replaced post punk urgency. New tempos, new keys, and in some cases new chords and new lyrics arrived. A great song, it turns out is kind of indestructible.

The process of selecting which songs to revisit started with a series of demos. I looked at how a song would hang together if all but the bare essential elements were taken away. The other main aim was to find ways to bring intimacy into the songs, as most of them were originally written with live concert performance in mind. 

Reviewing these sketch recordings with producer Bob Ezrin, it was very easy to see the ones that worked straight off the bat and those that needed more work. We all got into the sensibility of less is more.”

The 40 newly recorded tracks are collected together under each of the four bandmember names across four separate ‘albums’, with The Edge adding – “Hearing the songs interact, and finding the running orders for the four albums was really thrilling; finding the surprising segues, getting a chance to DJ. Once we had four distinct albums it was easy to see who would be the figurehead for each one.”

  1. One
  2. Where The Streets Have No Name
  3. Stories For Boys
  4. Walk On (Ukraine)
  5. Pride (In The Name Of Love)
  6. City Of Blinding Lights
  7. Ordinary Love
  8. Invisible
  9. Vertigo
  10. I Still Haven't Found What I'm Looking For
  11. The Fly
  12. If God Will Send His Angels
  13. Stay (Faraway, So Close!)
  14. Sunday Bloody Sunday
  15. I Will Follow
  16. "40"
Utgitt 2023 Format VINYL - 2LP - Opaque White
Sjanger Rock Antall disker 2
Antall spor 16 Artist U2
Bestillingsnummer 0602455034410 Serie U2 - Songs of Surrender