The Fame Sessions (VINYL)

George Jackson

399,00 39900
Sendes vanligvis innen 7-14 dager
One of the finest voices in Southern Soul, George Jackson's success as a writer meant he wasn't pushed as an artist and so his vinyl output is disappointingly small. Kent Records is rectifying that with this 12-track LP. It comprises ten tracks featured on Kent's George Jackson Fame CDs plus two previously unreleased tracks. Backed by either the classic Fame rhythm section of David Hood, Roger Hawkins, Barry Beckett and Jimmy Johnson or by the Fame Gang the tracks selected show George working through some of his most famous compositions as well as some lesser-known gems. Kent open with his version of I m Just A Prisoner (made famous by Candi Staton), while further numbers were championed by Wilson Pickett, Clarence Carter and Spencer Wiggins. All are given a distinctive reading by their composer. Others such as the astounding I Bit Off More Than I Can Chew languished in the vaults, unrecorded by anyone, a victim of Jackson s extraordinary work-rate. Two new songs Add A Little Sunshine and That From The Heart keep the quality high. Released with the full co-operation of Fame Records, the music is from the original source tapes, and comes housed in a sleeve that features photos from the Fame archive.


  1. I´m Just A Prisoner
  2. I Can´t Leave Your Love Alone
  3. Let The Best Man Win
  4. Add A Little Sunshine
  5. I Bit Off More Than I Can Chew
  6. Bite The Hand That Feeds You
  7. Don´t Count Me Out
  8. Double Lovin
  9. Greedy Over You
  10. Get It When I Want It
  11. Save Me
  12. That From The Heart


Utgitt 2013 Format VINYL
Sjanger Soul Antall disker 1
Antall spor 12 Artist George Jackson
Label Kent/Ace Leverandør Border Music Norway AS
Bestillingsnummer HIQLP002