Vivadixiesubmarinetransmissionplot (VINYL - 180 gram)


Beklager, denne varen er for øyeblikket ikke tilgjengelig for bestilling. Legg inn e-postadressen din hvis du vil holdes oppdatert på endringer i bestillingsstatus.
Sparklehorse: Mark Linkous (vocals, various instruments). Additional personnel: Bob Rupe (vocals, bass); David Charles (acoustic & electric guitars, keyboards, bass, drums); Mike Lucas (pedal steel); Dennis Herring (vibraphone); Armstead Wellford (bass); David Bush (drums); Johnny Hott (drums, percussion); Paul Watson (effects). Producers: Mark Linkous, David Charles, Dennis Herring. Engineers: Mark Linkous, David Charles, Dennis Herring. Recorded at Sound Of Music, Richmond, Virginia; Static King, Virginia; Bad Animals, Seattle, Washington. VIVADIXIESUBMARINETRANSMISSIONPLOT is an impressive debut, sprung fully formed from the head of Sparklehorse songwriter Mark Linkous. A melancholy ode to rural America, the album meanders between sparse, whispered lullabies like Heart of Darkness and distortion-drenched rockers like Hammering the Cramps while remaining oddly cohesive. Opening with the sleepy Homecoming Queen, Linkous immediately quotes Shakespeare (A horse, a kingdom for a horse...) and establishes his seemingly contradictory lush/lo-fi sound. Not content with structured songs alone, he also adds bursts of noise, samples, and tape loops to the mix on tracks like 850 Double Pumper Holley, Little Bastard Choo Choo and Ballad of a Cold Lost Marble. Linkous has obviously done his musical and cinematic homework, revisiting Neil Young's burned-out basement (from After the Gold Rush) in Spirit Ditch, and quoting characters played by Roberto Benigni and Tom Waits from Jim Jarmusch's film DOWN BY LAW in Sad & Beautiful World. In fact, despite extremely different vocal styles, Waits is frequently cited by Linkous as a major influence, and hints of Waits' oddball aesthetic are present throughout the album. Ultimately, however, it's Linkous' own vision that carries this rustic, ramshackle masterpiece.


  1. Homecoming Queen
  2. Weird Sisters
  3. 850 Double Pumper Holley
  4. Rainmaker
  5. Spirit Ditch
  6. Tears On Fresh Fruit
  7. Saturday
  8. Cow
  9. Little Bastard Choo Choo
  10. Hammering The Cramps
  11. Most Beautiful Widow In Town
  12. Heart Of Darkness
  13. Ballad Of A Cold Lost Marble
  14. Someday I Will Treat You Good
  15. Sad & Beautiful World
  16. Gasoline Horseys



Utgitt 1996 Format VINYL - 180 gram
Sjanger Rock Antall disker 1
Antall spor 16 Artist Sparklehorse
Label Plain Leverandør Import
Bestillingsnummer PLAI163.1