Yonkers, NY (VINYL)

Chip Taylor

299,00 29900
Sendes vanligvis innen 5-10 dager
As a songwriter, Chip Taylor has never seemed to be able to rest on his considerable laurels. Since his return to music in 1996, he's made a series of roots music records, including those with Carrie Rodriguez and Kendel Carson, that have all been critically acclaimed. YONKERS, NY, a double-disc set, may be his most ambitious album to date. Nearing 70, Taylor writes a lot about the past here as he looks back on his life and times in that little suburb just north of the Bronx where he and his brothers -- actor Jon Voight and geologist Barry Voight -- grew up, and reveals some family secrets along the way. The band includes guitarist John Platania; Greg Leisz on pedal steel, mandolin, and dobro; bassist Tony Mercadante; pianist and accordionist Seth Farber; Carson on fiddle; and drummer Tony Leone -- and the music is drenched in classic Americana: folk, country, and rockabilly. On the 11-track set, Taylor recounts his adventures musically and, in some tracks -- such as the opening "Barry Go On (Put Yourself on the Mountain)" and "Bastard Brothers" -- he recounts spoken stories. There are brief written commentaries on the songs in the deluxe hardbound lyric and photo booklet as well.


Disk 1
  1. Barry Go On (Put Yourself On The Mountain)
  2. Charcoal Sky
  3. Gin Rummy Rules
  4. Hey Jonny (Did You Feel That Movie)
  5. Without Horses
  6. No Dice
Disk 2
  1. Bastard Brothers
  2. Piece Of The Sky
  3. Saw Mill River Road
  4. Yonkers Girls
  5. Yonkers N.Y.


Utgitt 2009 Format VINYL
Sjanger Country Antall disker 1
Antall spor 11 Artist Chip Taylor
Label Trainwreck Leverandør Import
Bestillingsnummer TRNW33.1